Bringing drug discovery into the 21st century

Verseon was founded in 2002 to address the global need for better medicines. Our core team spent twelve years developing the science and technology advances necessary for designing drugs atom by atom on the computer.

Now, we are using our breakthrough molecule engineering platform to generate a steady stream of new drug candidates. Our drug discovery platform and diverse pipeline of drug candidates have the potential to transform modern medicine.

To achieve this goal, Verseon has assembled a team of physicists, mathematicians, computer scientists, medicinal and synthetic chemists, and biologists. Together, we are shaping the future of drug discovery.

Adityo Prakash, CEO, is experienced in bringing breakthrough technologies to market. Before founding Verseon, Adityo was co-founder and CEO of Pulsent Corporation. He is an inventor on over 40 patents and holds a BS from the California Institute of Technology.

Eniko Fodor, COO and CFO, is experienced in building cutting-edge technology organizations with highly effective operating, marketing, and IP strategies. Before founding Verseon, Eniko was co-founder and COO of Pulsent Corporation. She is an inventor on 27 patents and holds a BS from the Universitatea Babes-Bolyai in Romania.

David Kita, Vice President of R&D, is experienced in developing technological solutions in molecular modeling, bioinformatics, and signal processing. Before founding Verseon, David was Director of R&D of Pulsent Corporation and Director of Software and Algorithm Development – Bioinformatics at Hyseq Inc. David is an inventor on over 40 patents and holds a PhD from the University of Wisconsin, Madison.

David Williams, Senior Directory of Platform Technology is experienced in running successful computational physics and chemistry programs. Before joining Verseon, David led large research teams in high-energy physics simulations at the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center. He holds a PhD from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Anirban Datta, Director of Discovery Biology, is experienced in cancer cell biology, biochemistry, and novel bio-assay development. Before joining Verseon, Anirban elucidated signaling in cancer metastasis at UCSF. He also co-founded and led the development of 3-D cell-culture assays at Pharmacomatrix Inc. Anirban holds a PhD from the University of Pennsylvania.

Prof. Steven Chu is the former Secretary of Energy from 2009 to 2013. He was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1997 for his work on laser cooling of atoms at Bell Labs. He has also served on the faculty of University of California, Berkeley and as director of the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory from 2004 to 2009. He is currently Professor of Physics and Molecular and Cellular Physiology at Stanford University.

Rt Hon. Professor the Lord Ajay Kakkar is Professor of Surgery at University College Hospital London and a life peer in the House of Lords. Lord Kakkar is a renowned expert in the prevention and treatment of venous and arterial thromboembolic disease. He is the author of over 200 scientific papers and has been involved in phase II and pivotal phase III studies for NOACs. He serves as Chairman of University College London Partners and Director of the Thrombosis Research Institute. Lord Kakkar completed his medical degree at King’s College London and received a PhD from Imperial College London.

Prof. John Deanfield is the British Heart Foundation Vandervell Professor of Cardiology and Director of the National Centre for Cardiovascular Disease Prevention and Outcomes at University College Hospital, London. Professor Deanfield is a pioneer in cardiology and one of the leading investigators in cardiovascular disease. He is an author on over 500 papers and serves on numerous advisory and journal editorial boards.

Prof. Keith Fox is British Heart Foundation and Duke of Edinburgh Professor of Cardiology at University of Edinburgh. Professor Fox is an award-winning cardiologist and founding fellow of the European Society of Cardiology. He is an expert in acute coronary artery disease and has been the lead investigator on multiple novel anticoagulant trials. In 2015 Professor Fox was honored as one of four ‘Legends in Cardiology’ by the American College of Cardiology and the European Society of Cardiology.

Prof. C. Michael Gibson is a distinguished clinical researcher and interventional cardiologist. He is Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and a practicing interventional cardiologist and cardiovascular researcher at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center. Dr. Gibson has pioneered novel measures of coronary blood flow that are widely used today and has been the lead investigator on several large antiplatelet and anticoagulant trials.

Dr. Robert Karr is the former Senior Vice President of R&D; Strategy at Pfizer and currently Chief Scientific Officer at Tioma, an immuno-oncology company developing antibody treatments for solid and hematologic cancers. During his extensive career in the pharmaceutical industry, Dr. Karr has held various senior executive positions at Idera Pharmaceuticals, Pfizer, and Warner-Lambert. Prior to his career in industry, Dr. Karr completed his internship, residency, and fellowship at Washington University School of Medicine and held a faculty position at University Iowa College of Medicine.

Prof. Gregory Lip is Price-Evans Chair of Cardiovascular Medicine at the University of Liverpool. Professor Lip is one of the leading experts in the understanding and treatment of atrial fibrillation and was elected to the Thomson Reuters Science Watch list of ‘World’s Most Influential Scientific Minds 2014.’ He spearheaded research leading to the introduction of two widely used scores for assessing stroke and bleeding risk.

Prof. Renato Lopes is a professor of medicine in the Department of Medicine at Duke University Medical Center and the Federal University of Sao Paulo. Professor Lopes' research interests include the epidemiology and treatment of patients with combined atrial fibrillation and acute coronary syndromes, as well as new cardiology biomarkers. He helped establish the Brazilian Clinical Research Institute and currently serves as its Executive Director.